Kinkaid and Loney Monuments has extensive experience and skill in restoration and repair of cemeteries as well as for individual families from refurbishing lettering on family memorials to bringing entire cemeteries up to safety standards.
This grey granite cross in the United Cemeteries of Carleton Place has hid for many years the remarkable story of one family's sacrifice during the Great War. Now refurbished, a piece of Canadian history can now be shared.
In the battlefields of France during an April weekend of 1917, the 4 divisions of the Canadian Expeditionary forces battled together for the first time. Their object was to take Vimy Ridge. It was to be the greatest Allied victory at that time, but at high cost for Canada. 3593 lives were lost. William and Mary McDiarmid sent 4 sons off to war, only one, Leo, was to survive.
This restoration project was carried out for Leo’s daughter, Mrs. Martha Knox. We thank her for sharing her father's family’s history.
Crawford's Cemetery is the resting place for many Lanark Highlands pioneers. Nisbet, Closs, Fergus and Millar were just a few of those early settlers, including John Crawford. Emigrating from Lanarkshire Scotland in 1821, Crawford was a staunch Presbyterian who donated the land for the cemetery. The earliest church services were held in his home.
Jessie Crawford was John's daughter. This vermont blue marble spire's memorial urn had been broken off, and is now returned to its rightful place.
"Thank you very much for the repair work done, it was nice to have this repair done so quickly."
Crawford Cemetery Secretary Treasurer
The first Presbyterian Church at Rosetta was built on land purchased from the James Dick family who emigrated from Bathgate Scotland in 1821. A tragic beginning to their new life in Canada, James drowned at Lachine while Mrs. Dick passed away shortly after she and here 11 children arrived in Lanark Township.
Families such as the Peacocks, Robertsons, Ramsbottom and Campbells also settled in the Rosetta area, the first earliest recorded burial was Robert Stoddart, in 1828.
"Before the construction of the church, services were held at the preaching rock, on land original owned by Robert Arnott.
Cleaning of the entire cemetery has once more revealed their fascinating histories.